Don’t Knock the Hustle

Book Review- Knocking the Hustle: Against the Neoliberal Turn in Black Politics

Reed aka Samuel Reed
5 min readFeb 8, 2024
Image from Amazon

Dear Dr. Lester K. Spence,

I hope this letter finds you well and thriving in your creative and critical work. I’m deeply impressed by your efforts to shed light on the complex interplay between politics, economics, and the lived experiences of Black Americans. Your work on this subject will be an invaluable resource for generations to come.

As a teacherpreneur I am deeply invested in exploring and advocating for the nuanced understanding of hustle. My approach to this topic prioritizes alignment over the relentless grind. By this, I mean helping folks identify their skills and enthusiasms, then finding a way to attune these both to the social good and their economic advantage.

It is from this perspective that I wish to engage with your seminal work, “Knocking the Hustle: Against the Neoliberal Turn in Black Politics,” a book I enjoyed very much.

Your critical analysis of neoliberalism and its exacerbation of socioeconomic disparities resonates deeply with me. The way you trace the growing divide between the wealthy and the rest of society paints a stark picture of the challenges we face, particularly Black folks. Sadly, this is a narrative that not only aligns with my…

--

--

Reed aka Samuel Reed

Samuel Reed, is an accomplished Teacherpreneur and Business Coach with more than 25 years of success across education and workforce development industries.